Author Topic: To turn or not to turn  (Read 2068 times)

Offline Dennis Daigger

To turn or not to turn
« on: October 22, 2020, 01:19:17 AM »
My first bag is done with the exception of the rear seam that attaches the front and the back together.  The back has an inner pocket and an outer pocket that incorporates a belt loop.  The front has an outer pocket.

The gusset is sewn to the front and is slightly tapered from top to bottom.  The gusset reveal at the top is about an inch.

I have no experience with turning a bag right side out when the stitching is done so don't know whether the bag would be pliable enough to turn it when wetted.  It is a lot of thickness and the top opening is fairly small. Plan B is to simply use a visible seam attaching the gusset to the back.

I'm looking for advice from any of the experienced bag makers about how to proceed.

Offline EricEwing

• https://www.ericewingmaker.com/
Re: To turn or not to turn
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2020, 01:51:48 AM »
Ok after reading it like 2-3x I think I figured it out.
It’s very common to see bags of all types (muzzleloader bags and others) to have the front panel stitching turned and hidden, and the back panel stitching not turned and showing.

If that’s what you’re going for....
To turn that front panel to hide the stitching you’re gonna want to trim the edges of where it’s stitched a bit, using one of several types of tools for reducing and/or rounding edges. Then get it wet and carefully turn it without stretching it in any spots, like when you’re making a pizza and a finger pokes the dough weird. If your stitching was pretty neat and tight it will probably look fine.
Then lay the gusset on the back panel and stitch in a way it won’t be turned, and then trim/burnish the edges.

If I got it all wrong and you want to hide all the stitching, then get it wet and go for it I say, just be careful.

Online James Rogers

• James Rogers
    • Fowling Piece
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2020, 04:16:30 AM »