Author Topic: Identifying an "Eister" Rifle  (Read 3915 times)

howal

Identifying an "Eister" Rifle
« on: November 16, 2020, 08:39:44 PM »
I'm a newbie to this forum, and am looking for some help. My father had some antique firearms and now I own his flintlock rifle that he bought in 1960. He thought it was an "Eister" type rifle, and I'd like to learn more about it. There are no identifying marks on it that I have found (no barrel proof marks, no names on the lockplate, etc.). I believe it's 0.50" caliber, with a 40" barrel. It seems to be in great shape. I've uploaded some pictures, and hope they're of good enough quality. If any more photos are needed, please let me know.

I'm not expecting to learn that it was actually made by George Eister, but I'd be thrilled to get and idea of who may have made it, where and when.

Offline mr. no gold

• member 2
Re: Identifying an "Eister" Rifle
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2020, 10:54:48 PM »
Haven't seen too many Eister rifles in my travels, but without a barrel signature, carving, and engraving, it is hard to impute this gun to his hand. Also, he used far more screws to hold the patch box than are present on this gun. Granted the box designs are quite similar, but this design was used in New York, too. The architecture/profile is not strictly in conformance with the York style. It appears that the wrist is checkered and there are no Eister rifles with that feature. Some York builders did checker the wrist in later days, one of the Welshans comes to mind. You have a very fine rifle that was perhaps a restocked Eister or it is a New York State gun. I lean toward the latter. Thank you for allowing us to have a look at it. We all hope that our next gun is as nice as this one is. There is an Eister rifle in the ALR library come to think of it; you might check in there for a comparison.
Dick

Offline WESTbury

• Marble Mountain central I Corps May 1969
« Reply #2 on: November 17, 2020, 12:34:17 AM »