Author Topic: Off hand shooting  (Read 2076 times)

Offline hortonstn

Off hand shooting
« on: January 26, 2021, 03:07:20 AM »
When shooting off hand do you set your sights for a dead on hit or figure 8
Try to figure it out I've been shooting bench rest for the last 25 years
Any advice appreciated

Offline Bob McBride

• TENNESSEE
    • Black Powder TV
Re: Off hand shooting
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2021, 03:21:03 AM »
When shooting off hand do you set your sights for a dead on hit or figure 8
Try to figure it out I've been shooting bench rest for the last 25 years
Any advice appreciated

I use dead on sights but do figure 8 my muzzle a bit to stabilize things. About 4 small figure 8's over the target give me about 1.5 seconds of dead steady. Sometimes I don't need to do that, and sometimes it doesn't help.  ;D

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2021, 03:58:20 AM »
I sight in my rifles from a bench so that the ball hits exactly where the sights are, ie:  dead centre.  I do not use a 6 o'clock hold, although I bring the sights up into the target from below the bull until I'm right on the middle, and then I squeeze off the shot.  When I'm fresh, I can almost always hold the sights on the bull, keeping them inside of about 1 1/2" while I touch it off.  I've never understood the concept of deliberately moving the sights around in the bull and hoping for a lucky trigger break.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Online smylee grouch

« Reply #3 on: January 26, 2021, 04:05:31 AM »
I try to hold steady on what ever point I want to hit but I also never liked the idea of chasing a stationary target 

Offline Tim Ault

« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2021, 05:12:21 AM »
I go from the button up when the top of the blade hits the bottom of the bull I touch it off

Offline bob in the woods

« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2021, 05:53:16 AM »