Author Topic: Making Horn Bands  (Read 5818 times)

Online Tim Crosby

• Administrator
  • AKA TimBuckII
Making Horn Bands
« on: June 21, 2010, 07:04:45 PM »
Right up front let me say that this is the way I do bands and it is self taught. I’m sure there are other ways but this works for me. I am always looking for ways to simplify the operation.

There is a lot of work involved in making the bands, I probably have 80 bands cut and at least as many horns that have been cut up for bands and never seem to have the right band. Cutting them off on a band saw, hack saw whatever is one thing getting them spaced right, turned and fit are three more steps. Some horns just do not make good bands, oval, horns with high ridges inside them, thick to very thin sides on the same horn,