Author Topic: First horn...buffalo powder horn  (Read 1953 times)

vandeusen1987

First horn...buffalo powder horn
« on: February 05, 2021, 01:12:43 AM »
I'm just getting started dabbling in the art of making powder horns. Little back story, my wife's grandpa is Louie Parker...thats how I got into this! For my first horn I found a big gnarly looking american bison horn at a local "junk" store. It still had all the scale on it but looked like it was in good shape I already had a good chunk of walnut so I started in on my new project. After way to many hours a ton of hard work about half a dozen design changes and all my creative juices flowing this is the finished product....i also made a funnel for filling the horn. It's made from Osage orange and deer antler

« Last Edit: February 05, 2021, 01:36:38 AM by vandeusen1987 »

vandeusen1987

Re: First horn...buffalo powder horn
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2021, 01:19:14 AM »
I think I might add a basic compass rose in silver wire inlay on the base plug...this horn has a lot going on but I made it to be my personal horn so trying all kinds of ideas/styles on it

Offline snapper

« Reply #2 on: February 05, 2021, 01:54:39 AM »
Great start.   I am sure you learned a lot and cant wait to see the next one.

Think about changing out your strap for a leather one, or a nice woven one.   

Fleener
My taste are simple:  I am easily satisfied with the best.  Winston Churchill

Offline Howard

« Reply #3 on: February 05, 2021, 02:17:55 AM »
Well I made a powder horn about 55 years ago & it didn't look that good. I think your next one will look much better.  I love seeing horns with turned bone spouts & turned butts. I'm looking forward to see your next horn or other project. Keep it up & don't quit as I see talent in your work. Good Luck !  Howard

Offline Frank Barker

« Reply #4 on: February 05, 2021, 02:45:59 AM »