Author Topic: Tutorial for getting started?  (Read 3448 times)

Offline Dwshotwell

Tutorial for getting started?
« on: February 10, 2021, 07:57:03 PM »
I've built my first flintlock and am close to finishing my second. Third kit arrived yesterday. I've never fired a flintlock. I've searched here for a good "getting started" thread but not found much regarding how an absolute beginner can get started. I understand there's a lot that goes into dialing in the right combination of powder, ball, patch, etc. Right now what I need is a simple starting point - what to try first to at least get some lead flying safely downrange. If you can point me to old threads (I tried to search), other internet sources (most of what I saw dealt with percussion or modern in-line guns), or books, I'd appreciate the assist.

First rifle is a fifty caliber with Chamber's early Germanic lock. I'm also finishing up a Kibler Early Colonial in 54 and starting a Chamber's Isaac Haines in 54.

Thank you,

DS
David Shotwell

Offline flinchrocket

Re: Tutorial for getting started?
« Reply #1 on: February 10, 2021, 08:17:55 PM »
This is why you need to get in contact with a muzzleloading club in your area. Even though everyone does things different, there are many things the same. Some one on one instruction would be hard to beat, then when you start on your own you will have at least some idea of what your doing. Also, check out the postal match tread and you will get an idea of what kind of accuracy to expect. Good luck and don't cut yourself on the flint.

Offline Jim Spray

« Reply #2 on: February 10, 2021, 08:27:03 PM »
Bob McBride has a great YouTube channel you can watch. There is a link on his posts. http://www.youtube.com/c/blackpowdertv

Offline Daryl

« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2021, 08:28:59 PM »
Hello David. Welcome to the forum.
The first thing you must do once finishing a rifle, is to finish the muzzle crown.  Most come from the barrel company looking like these two.