Author Topic: pivoting patchbox latch  (Read 1789 times)

Offline martin9

pivoting patchbox latch
« on: April 15, 2021, 06:02:22 PM »
I want to put a pivoting patchbox on a build I'm just getting started on. I have never seen how the latch works on one of these. I have my own ideas of how I'm going to do it....basically a smaller version of a sliding patchbox spring/latch with a notch cut into the buttplate. I would love to see a pic or two of different ways of doing this. 

Online Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
Re: pivoting patchbox latch
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2021, 09:13:45 PM »
By 'pivoting' do you mean either a brass or wood lid that swivels up or down relative to the stock when held in shooting form?  If so then yes, the release is essentially the same as a wood box spring, but you must leave a web of wood between cavity and buttplate so you can chisel a groove to act as the 'catch.'

Springs should be lightly tensioned; no need for a killer spring which will subsequently scar up the stock as the box swivels.  Swiveling down (toward toe) usually works best as the stock wood typically tends to fall away from the spring so minimal scratching or drag.
Strange women lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government!

Offline martin9

« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2021, 09:57:23 PM »
Yes, the rotating/swinging type of wooden lid patchbox. I've seen Don Bruton use this type box a lot. I like these more than the sliding wood box as I lost a lid one time on my Jaeger, I did find it later:>)

Offline Daniel Coats

« Reply #3 on: April 15, 2021, 10:10:56 PM »
Here's a good picture off Don's website.

Dan

"Ain't no nipples on a man's rifle"

Online Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
« Reply #4 on: April 15, 2021, 10:23:19 PM »
Is there a spring on that?  Or is the stud visible at the lower edge designed to act as a 'stop?'
Strange women lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government!

Online Eric Kettenburg