Author Topic: Rifle Building  (Read 1802 times)

Offline hawkeye

Rifle Building
« on: April 16, 2021, 03:32:44 PM »
I'm a novice in building a rifle, In the past I assembled a couple kit gun's, that's it!
My question is does the drop of heel depends on shooters posture for best sight picture in a build

Offline sz

Re: Rifle Building
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2021, 04:11:42 PM »
Yes drop at heel and drop at comb are best determined by measurements of your body.  Cast off too.   Not that you need it to be perfect, (look at military issue rifles. Many men can fire rifles with a set or measurements made in mass produced rifles and do fine)   BUT if you build from a blank it takes no more time or effort to get it perfect than it does to get it "pretty close".

Offline hawkeye

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2021, 04:47:32 PM »
Are there any sources (books of Else) to determine of as guide to figure out?

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2021, 05:14:32 PM »
For most folks, handling a modern shotgun designed to fit 75% of shooters will tell you what you need to know. Close your eyes, pick it up and point it, and open your eyes. Are you looking right down the sight rib or top of the barrel? Then that length of pull, drop at heel, and drop at comb will work for you.

Are you staring at the breech hump and can’t see the bead? You need less drop.

Are you looking down on the barrel? You need more drop.
Andover, Vermont

Offline hawkeye

« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2021, 05:52:06 PM »
Okay Rich,
Thank you for explicating a bit. Keep that in mind

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2021, 07:13:52 PM »
Okay Rich,
Thank you for explicating a bit. Keep that in mind