Author Topic: Bucks County LRs..... just some building observations  (Read 1946 times)

Offline flehto

Bucks County LRs..... just some building observations
« on: April 27, 2021, 09:47:26 PM »
To begin.....I'm not an expert on building LRs by any means but seeing I chose BCs as my favorite style of LRs, Schuler's LRs in particular, I'd like to pass on some of the disappointments and successes of building these LRs.

The information on BCs is limited and the building components are also limited......until recently, the TGs and Bplates had to be modified from other styles and fortunately  they resulted in items which looked like they were suitable for a BC build. This took a while and on the 3rd and final  attempt,  the passable  BC TGs and Bplates were  achieved. I think Knob Mountain has a Bplate and TG that really looks good and from original parts.

Schuler made BCs w/ straight comblines and also curved ones.....don't know the reason for this,  but I preferred the curved comblines....so made a tracing of a Schuler buttstock  in RCA 1 w/ a curved combline and  then enlarged it on the  computer to a stated dimension. Have used this template for  all  of my BC builds except the first 2. All my BC builds are from a blank for obvious reasons.

Early on used "C" weight swamped bbls due to my ignorance and although they were somewhat "petite", they weren't petite enough, so went to a "B" weight in .50 cal X 46" long. A 3/8 dia RR was chosen because of the .50 cal. and Dave Rase did the bbl/RR work and also consistently made the web thickness  at the breech  1/16" or slightly less  and the web at the muzzle , 5/32" thick. The smaller bbl  and the thin webs contributed to a very petite LR.