Author Topic: Shooting belted balls  (Read 1219 times)

Offline snapper

Shooting belted balls
« on: May 08, 2021, 03:45:43 PM »
I have no experience with belted balls.   

I am looking at a belted ball rifle that is for sale.

For those that have experience with shooting belted balls, do you use a patch or no patch?   If you dont use a patch, do you experience leading in the grove?

What about accuracy?

I see Tanner's make belted ball molds.

Thanks

Fleener

My taste are simple:  I am easily satisfied with the best.  Winston Churchill

Offline Dennis Daigger

Re: Shooting belted balls
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2021, 07:06:25 PM »
You might contact Steve Bertram. He is an experienced and knowledgeable belted ball shooter that freely shares information. The Double Gun and Nitroexpress forums have a noteworthy presence of muzzleloader shooters and searches there should also provide information on belted balls.

Steve's contact info is at: http://www.bertramandco.com/

Offline Daryl

« Reply #2 on: May 08, 2021, 07:12:09 PM »
One of our BC shooters from the Island (Vancouver Isl) showed up at Hefley Creek Rendezvous one year, with a Purdy .52 belted ball rifle.
As with 'back in the day', he also shot with with a cloth patched belted ball. I do not know what the tolerances were, but would expect it allowed
a substantial patch of at least .015" thickness. I am sure he used at least that thickness of patch.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline T*O*F

« Reply #3 on: May 08, 2021, 09:55:46 PM »
One of our BC shooters from the Island (Vancouver Isl) showed up at Hefley Creek Rendezvous one year
That wasn't Doug Miller, was it?  I know he had restored a couple to shooting condition.  Haven't heard from him in a while.
Dave Kanger