Author Topic: Inlaying wedding bands in gun barrels.(pictures fixed)  (Read 18213 times)

Online Rolf

• There's more than one way to skin a cat.
Inlaying wedding bands in gun barrels.(pictures fixed)
« on: February 21, 2010, 07:45:01 PM »
I'm no expert on the subject. This is my first attempt. I inlayed 3 pure silver wedding bands on a pistol barrel and the results look good. This is a description on how I did it. I'm hoping the more experienced builders will add their tip and comments.

1 Tools used.
I made the chisels with the Lindsay sharpening system.
1.Undercut chisel (Baptist gold inlay chisel jig)
2.Small flat chisel without heel  (flat and knife chisel jig)
3.Jeweler's saw with no.0 blade.

2.Cutting the inlay channel.
The channel was made by doing several parallel saw cuts the height of the saw blade (0.024”). The thin slivers of metal were broken off with a knife and the bottom filed clean.

3. Undercutting the channel.
I undercut the channel until I could see the edges upset. This took only a couple of raps on the undercut chisel. Remember to stop the undercut before you reach the edge of the barrel flat.

4.  Raising barbs on the bottom of the channel.
If you hammer the metal into the channel without raising barbs, it elongates without filling the undercuts. The barbs are raised with a flat chisel without a heel. If you try it with a heeled chisel the barbs will break off. The barbs are raised from opposing directions so they function like Velcro when you hammer the metal down.

5.Filling the channel .
Anneal the metal, hammer it down and file off the excess. The main challenge here is deciding what size of wire to use. I used 0.8” pure silver wire. This created a lot of waste metal that had to be filed off. No big problem with silver. The 3 wedding band cost me about $7 in silver. I'd hate to waste that much gold. Does anyone have a formula for estimating wire size needed?

Best regards
Rolfkt