Author Topic: The Future of Muzzle Loading Shooting  (Read 2455 times)

Offline dave951

• Starting Member
The Future of Muzzle Loading Shooting
« on: August 31, 2021, 02:33:25 PM »
I've been shooting the holy black for over 40 years and one thing I've noticed is that there are very, very few young people getting into shooting traditional muzzle loaders. A group of us North South Skirmish Association competitors have banded together to take a crack at how to solve this problem. We found that nearly every youth organization with a shooting sports program mandates an NRA certified Muzzleloading Instructor. We also found that the NRA certification is a very rare one and not only that, many with that certification weren't even active muzzleloading enthusiasts. So we got certified, obtained support from Schuetzen for powder and caps and we worked in a couple Scout camps with kids through the summer. We had an interruption thanks to Covid but in the last summer, we worked two camps. The Covid thing made NRA certified muzzleloading instructors even harder to find and as a result, had we not been volunteering in those two camps, there would have been no muzzleloading shooting going on at all for those kids. Here's a couple links to what we did-

https://www.muzzleloadingforum.com/threads/so-heres-what-weve-been-up-to.115764/
https://www.muzzleloadingforum.com/threads/were-back-at-it.133586/

Here's a couple of my favorite pictures from our sessions

Offline dave951

• Starting Member
Re: The Future of Muzzle Loading Shooting
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2021, 02:37:16 PM »