Author Topic: Chisels & sharpening equipment  (Read 3809 times)

Offline Roger B

• You wouldn't have a snack, would you?
Chisels & sharpening equipment
« on: September 08, 2021, 12:36:10 AM »
Im trying to get serious about building & want to by some chisels & sharpening for a start. What I've been using are generally just various hand me downs, though i do have a set British-marked Marples which seem pretty good. Im no expert at sharpening them though.

What do you guys use & what type of stones etc do you use to sharpen them?
Roger B.
Never underestimate the sheer destructive power of a minimally skilled, but highly motivated man with tools.

Offline borderdogs

Re: Chisels & sharpening equipment
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2021, 01:44:54 AM »
Hi Roger
I have used just about every method you could name and for a long time I used various stones then started using Japanese water stones which put a good edge on going though the grits. I use to keep them in a 5 gallon bucket in water. Then I got a Tormach which I think is great. If you start with just chisels you can get razor edges. There are a ton of video's online to watch and likewise a lot of different jigs to go with the grinder. They are expensive but for me I like it a lot. By the way I still use my hard stones and even sandpaper on glass plate once in a while but I use the Tormach more than any other method.
Rob

Offline Woodland

« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2021, 02:35:46 AM »
I have never been good at sharpening anything, but I use a cheap amazon chisel sharpening guide on sandpaper stuck to a glass tile.  my chisels all have  mirror edges that cut like butter!  I just work through the grits from 320 to 2500.  For chisels, Pheil works well, but are expensive.  I have had the best luck buying older chisels at antique malls and repairing the edges.  My go-to chisels are all from antique stores.

Jon

Offline sdilts

« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2021, 03:07:44 AM »
Hi Roger