Author Topic: lock position vs breach  (Read 2031 times)

Offline bob in the woods

lock position vs breach
« on: December 07, 2021, 04:14:59 AM »
There has been a fair amount of discussion re kits or rather parts sets . I did not want to hijact the thread , so thought I'd just post this.  First, I will admit that I am by no means an expert when it comes to anything re these historical guns which I love. What really interests me is the processes , skills and materials used to make these, along with their use, both in a historical and modern context.  I've seen many folks who are fanatical re the pan shield [?] location being in line with the back of the barrel, [ I'm not sure if I'm describing this properly ]    and yet many of the old guns I've looked at don't incorporate this as a feature. Looking at NE Fowling guns in Grinslade's book as an example,  NE 1   maybe , NE 2  no, NE3 yes, NE4  not even close, NE 5 yes, NE 6 no.....well you get the idea.  When I built my newest NE Fowling gun from Chambers, the pan fence ended up 1/8th in from the back of the barrel.  Looks fine to me and no notched plug.

Offline smylee grouch

Re: lock position vs breach
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2021, 05:06:21 AM »
Good point Bob. There are a lot of " these guns always had this or were made like this " comments made. Kinda reinforces my belief that you should never say never or always.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2021, 05:28:21 AM »