Author Topic: original halfstock Hawken flintlock conversation etc  (Read 7291 times)

Offline JHeath

original halfstock Hawken flintlock conversation etc
« on: December 13, 2021, 08:45:13 AM »
Ahem, I'm no Hawken expert but isn't it probable that J&S were working from something like this.

"A Fine High Quality English/American Half Stock Flintlock Rifle made by "W & G CHANCE, BIRMINGHAM", circa. 1790-1820, converted to percussion, circa. 1840's-1850's.  30.5", .577 caliber octagon steel rifled barrel (retaining generous amounts of original brown striping finish).  The lock has high quality decorative engraving and is maker marked "W & G. CHANCE, BIRMINGM".  All steel furniture includes a engraved trigger guard, butt plate and, a patch box with push button release (retaining approx. 40% original blue finish).  The stock has a 4" stress crack along the upper right edge of the fore-end, a horn fore-end cap, otherwise solid with a beautiful varnish, light scratches and dings from years of handling.  A beautiful condition rifle in good mechanical working order.

"TTI-528119

"Note; W. Chance (William) was a Merchant in Birmingham (1777-1780).  He and his son (William 2) were Merchants to America to the fur trade in the early 19th century.

"Ref. p. 69 GUNMAKERS OF LONDON 1350-1850, BY Howard L. Blackmore., c. 1986."

Here's the link. Ignore the "pennsylvania smooth bore" text in the link, apparently that's a mistake or holdover from another listing. Just follow the link.

https://tortugatrading.com/products/copy-of-american-pennsylvania-flintlock-smooth-bore-long-gun-circa-1790-1822

The classic St Louis Hawkens don't look like their father's Maryland longrifles. They look a lot like this English rifle.  The fore end, trigger guard, two keys, bbl length etc.  I've seen other similar ESRs.

Offline Rajin cajun

• Ragin Cajun
Re: original halfstock Hawken flintlock conversation etc
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2021, 02:19:58 PM »