Author Topic: 3F powder with .063 Vent hole Flintlock question?  (Read 1731 times)

Offline Hunterdude

3F powder with .063 Vent hole Flintlock question?
« on: December 25, 2021, 05:44:10 AM »
I am quite new to Flintlocks, but when I clean my Pedersoli Frontier .50 with a wet patch I can clearly hear a "hiss" sound as I swab the bore, the wet patch makes a nice seal and trapped air ( in bore) is escaping the Vent with enough force to make a hiss sound. This got me to thinking (dangerous, I know) but a snug fitting lubed PRB is likely also quite a good seal on the bore, I do not hear "hissing" as I load a PRB likely because I do not push it down real fast trying to have good form and not break my wood ramrod.

My question is: Are we blowing a "small" amount of the main powder charge Out the Vent as we load? Obviously not a big deal, but we work hard to get everything Very consistent for accuracy, I have not read anything about this, but may not have looked hard enough. I was thinking the full size grains may not exit, but it seems like some of the finer powder grains might....I may be over thinking it :o
Any thoughts or words of wisdom are welcome!

Edit: I did consider closing the frizzen on a very clean pan, then load the rifle, Then carefully open frizzen to inspect if/how much powder or powder fines may be getting pushed out during the load process, however my Pedersoli is all torn down right now to repair a wood chip around the lock plate.
« Last Edit: December 25, 2021, 06:32:15 AM by Hunterdude »

Offline Mad Monk

Re: 3F powder with .063 Vent hole Flintlock question?
« Reply #1 on: December 25, 2021, 06:58:50 AM »