Author Topic: Best Flint for Kibler SMR CNC lock?  (Read 1502 times)

Offline Hunterdude

Best Flint for Kibler SMR CNC lock?
« on: December 31, 2021, 08:55:49 AM »
I have a Kibler SMR kit coming soon, I would like to order a nice supply of top quality flints for it. Kibler longrifle list a 3/4"x7/8" flint as correct size, and show a photo of an amber color flint on website, but limit (3) per kit purchased and also currently sold out.
    So if anyone is running Jim kiblers CNC lock and found some great flints? Please share the source!
    Also I have limited experience with Flintlocks, my Pedersoli Frontier is easy on them, but all other " production" Flintlocks I have messed with where very hard on flints, so any tips that could be shared on setting the SMR up to spark well and flints to last is also greatly appreciated.

PS: I am not expecting issues with the high grade lock....but admitted am a bit "gunshy" after a few rounds with production grade "rock crushers" ???

« Last Edit: December 31, 2021, 09:16:40 AM by Hunterdude »

Offline Mike from OK

Re: Best Flint for Kibler SMR CNC lock?
« Reply #1 on: December 31, 2021, 09:05:49 AM »
Hard to beat these...

https://www.trackofthewolf.com/List/Item.aspx/141/1

Size #6 should be the one you need if you want ¾ x ⅞

Mike

Offline Marcruger

« Reply #2 on: December 31, 2021, 02:10:08 PM »
First things first- stop worrying until you have a reason to worry.  Try the lock first and see how it does.  Having flints ahead is a good plan, but you have plenty of time while you are building.
I have found that locks that are hard on flints can be due to frizzen rebound. That is where the flint strikes the frizzen and pops it open.  But due to springs, the frizen bounces back and hits the edge of the flint, breaking or knapping it.