Author Topic: Brown Bess Maker?  (Read 1853 times)

Offline Mule Brain

• Summerville, SC
    • Charles Towne Long Rifles Black Powder Club
Brown Bess Maker?
« on: January 05, 2022, 08:44:51 PM »
Trying to find out any information on who built this, or where it's from?  Barrel is 39"

Any info greatly appreciated

lexus rc 350 0 60

Those Without Arms Cannot Defend Freedom

South Carolina's Oldest Black Powder Club

https://charlestownelongrifles.com/

Offline Eric Kettenburg

• Eric Kettenburg
Re: Brown Bess Maker?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2022, 09:40:54 PM »
I'm no expert on Brit guns but I'm pretty positive that this is an antique in fantastic condition, not a contemporary gun.
Strange women lying in ponds, distributing swords, is no basis for a system of government!

Offline T*O*F

« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2022, 10:51:31 PM »
It's an Irish gun.  You can see the name Pattison on the sideplate and Dublin Castle on the lock.

Pattison, Dublin
Mark and John Pattison in business from 1835 - 1850, Robert Pattison is listed as in business in 1850 only.
Dave Kanger

If religion is opium for the masses, the internet is a crack, pixel-huffing orgy that deafens the brain, numbs the senses and scrambles our peer list to include every anonymous loser, twisted deviant, and freak as well as people we normally wouldn't give the time of day.
-S.M. Tomlinson

Offline Mule Brain

• Summerville, SC
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2022, 11:24:43 PM »
Thanks for that info, and your correct, it is a real one!

I bought it as a reproduction, but the more I looked at it I was convinced otherwise.

I found the same gun for sale in England for $ 3,793.00 in pretty poor condition

Offline Ken G

• F & AM #758
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2022, 12:00:53 AM »
Much better feeling than buying an original and finding out it is a reproduction.  Nice find! 

Ken
Failure only comes when you stop trying.

Offline T*O*F

« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2022, 12:13:34 AM »