Author Topic: 3/8 ramrod to a 5/16  (Read 1386 times)

Offline bowkill

3/8 ramrod to a 5/16
« on: March 13, 2022, 01:57:10 AM »
What is the best way to reduce ramrod sizes? Is there something i could make? Takes a while with sandpaper, but guess i could use a small plane.. Ideas?
μολὼν λαβέ (Come and take them)

Offline foresterdj

Re: 3/8 ramrod to a 5/16
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2022, 02:06:06 AM »
I am a rank amateur, but I might try chucking it up in a drill, putting on a good glove, hold a piece of 150 grit in hand and spin it while moving hand up and down the length, check progress often. Should at least come out cylindrical yet.

Offline Lucky R A

• In Costume
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2022, 02:08:05 AM »
Yes,  Most all my ram rods start at 7/16 and taper to 5/16.  This is achieved in 10 minutes with a my disc/belt sander.  the machine uses a 6X48" belt.  I find that an 80 grit belt makes short work of the process.  Just place the ram rod on the belt and apply downward pressure with your off hand while you rotate the rod with your strong hand.  I have a piece of angle iron that I drilled a series of holes from 5/16 up to a 1/2 in through I then pull the tapered rod through the appropriate hole where it needs a little rounding.  Pick a hole bigger than your rod and push your rod on an angle through the hole, just like using a scraper, but faster and makes the rod nice and round. It is not a hard thing..

Ron
"The highest reward that God gives us for good work is the ability to do better work."  - Elbert Hubbard

Offline Stoner creek

« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2022, 02:10:37 AM »
I’ve mounted an electric drill in my vise, chucked the rod in the drill, started the drill and push the lock button and turned it down with a rasp (just like a lathe). Use calipers to determine proper rod diameter. It’s exciting work. Watch your fingers.
Stop Marxism in America

Offline Daryl

« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2022, 03:44:46 AM »