Author Topic: .25 caliber Rifle  (Read 5911 times)

timM

.25 caliber Rifle
« on: August 10, 2008, 03:59:36 AM »
I just finished admiring Gibsters .25 cal Rifle build. The thought of this small of a bore diameter is very intriguing.  I have no experience with anything less than .32 cal.  I would be curious about some basics connected to shooting a .25 cal. 

I know there is a lot of combined experience on this board.  Could I bate some comments connected to this?  ie.  barrel twist, bullet weight, velocity & powder charges, fowling between shoots, skinny ramrods etc.  Heck, I think I want one.
tim

Offline Bill of the 45th

• Gaylord, Michigan
Re: .25 caliber Rifle
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2008, 05:33:51 AM »
Stonewall creek has Ed Rayle 42"swamped 25 cal barrels in stock.  They're 1 in 48.  Most of the sub calibers like smaller loads.  I have a Rayle 44" in 30 cal that likes 20 grains of 3F  with a tight patch.  It's still in the break in stage, so a little tough to load unless you use a range rod.  For hunting tree rats I'll probably work on an easier to load combo as I use a 44"x 1/4" Hickory ramrod.   A tighter patch leads to less fowling, and that's important for the smaller cal's.  These small cal rifles, really are sleek little beauties , a lot of fun to carry and shoot.

Bill
Bill Knapp
Over the Hill, What Hill, and when did I go over it?

don getz

« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2008, 05:35:45 PM »
While you are on the subject of small calibre guns, stop by our table at the CLA and look at the little southern mountain
rifle that my son John owns.   28 cal......John and I originally started this gun many years ago.  It has about a 44" barrel,