Author Topic: Hardware for the next gun  (Read 1223 times)

Offline mgbruch

Hardware for the next gun
« on: June 19, 2022, 04:08:08 AM »
Just finished making the butt plate, trigger guard, and double set triggers for rifle number ten from a blank.  They need edges beveled for inletting and a little more finish work, which they'll get when it's time to put them on; but they have their final shape and dimensions.

I actually make the double set triggers first; I like to get them out of the way.  This will only be the fourth gun to carry my own triggers, so I still feel like I'm new at them.  I take my time, and they function perfectly.

I make my trigger guard second; so it gets custom made for the triggers.  That way allows me to know everything will fit nicely, and look good.  This is a new style of guard for me; it took just a bit of fussing, but I got it the way I wanted.  And I learned what to do on the next one to make it go easier.

Last comes the butt plate.  I never finish laying out a gun I have these parts made. And obviously I have the lock, stock, and barrel.  I do a preliminary layout, without the plate and guard, just drawing in the curvature of the plate, because it will be pretty close.  Mostly I want to know that my trigger guard fits properly with respect to the curve of the wrist, where the triggers will be, and where the front guard screw will be placed in the stock.  Stuff like that is important.

I make all of the other iron furniture for the gun as well; but those things get made when it's time to put them on.  Sights are always last.

Offline smylee grouch

Re: Hardware for the next gun
« Reply #1 on: June 19, 2022, 04:18:43 AM »
Looks like nice work. What did you use for the springs?

Offline steven baker

« Reply #2 on: June 19, 2022, 06:13:48 AM »
Nice work,I would like to know what steel that you used for the triggers? thanks and take care Steven.

Offline BOB HILL

« Reply #3 on: June 19, 2022, 07:01:40 AM »