Author Topic: Fusil de chasse vs english smoothbores  (Read 2120 times)

Offline Bushfire

Fusil de chasse vs english smoothbores
« on: June 10, 2022, 02:29:13 AM »
G'day all,

Bearing in mind that I'm still relatively new to the world of traditional muzzleloaders can someone please explain the differences between a french fusil de chasse and an english fowler and the various "trade guns". Are trade guns any generic smoothbore flintlock that was sold/traded to the indians? My journey into muzzleloaders started with an inline about 8 years ago, I then went to hawken caplocks and inevitably flintlocks. I'm finding myself drawn more and more to the 18th century and smoothbore guns so I'm trying to develop my knowledge as best I can.

In terms of english vs french smoothbores, what are the key differences?

I currently have a Pedersoli trade gun which I assume is based off an english style gun. I want to be very clear, it is a flawless gun in terms of function. I only use 2F prime and it's almost instantaneous ignition and rarely misses a beat. But I think I'd still like to buy or build a more custom smoothbore, and preferably something based off the french side of things as a nod to my french heritage. My grandfather was a frenchman who immigrated to Australia after WW2. On my paternal side, my family assumed we were pretty much all irish but some ancestry work was done by an auntie and turns out we have french there as well.

Any help would be great on both the differences of what makes a fusil a fusil and also where I can get one. Realistically with exchange rates and freight costs a kit would be probably more realistic than a finished gun. I could always get a pedersoli corrige or charleville but I prefer a lighter fowler piece for hunting in the bush.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Fusil de chasse vs english smoothbores
« Reply #1 on: June 10, 2022, 02:46:28 AM »