Author Topic: How to get started ?  (Read 975 times)

Offline Nessmuck

How to get started ?
« on: August 06, 2022, 05:52:43 PM »
Just wonder how you folks get started in bag making ? Take classes….self taught from you tube ? Have a mentor? I would like to try my hand at it . Iam drawn to the Bark tanned bags. Just some simple tools needed ,I presume? Thanks for any feedback

Online Daniel Coats

Re: How to get started ?
« Reply #1 on: August 06, 2022, 06:19:46 PM »
Buy the best one you can afford to have on hand as an example. Going forward at least you will know what they are supposed to look like.
« Last Edit: August 06, 2022, 06:49:58 PM by Daniel Coats »
Dan

"Ain't no nipples on a man's rifle"

Offline Nessmuck

« Reply #2 on: August 06, 2022, 07:41:44 PM »
Buy the best one you can afford to have on hand as an example. Going forward at least you will know what they are supposed to look like.

Was glad to fixed by….to Buy…lol

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #3 on: August 06, 2022, 07:42:51 PM »
T.C. Albert has a good and affordable book on how to do it. Plenty of great tutorials here too by The Capgun Kid and others.
Andover, Vermont

Offline Tim Crosby

• Administrator
  • AKA TimBuckII
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2022, 08:27:09 PM »
 There is one of Tim's books for sale here:

https://americanlongrifles.org/forum/index.php?topic=72589.0

Tim C.

Offline Marcruger

« Reply #5 on: August 07, 2022, 12:22:40 AM »
Hi Nessmuck,

I don't work in braintanned, so you'll have to rely on other skilled makers' advice.