Author Topic: Loads for Kibler .45 SMR  (Read 2534 times)

Offline warren5421

• Starting Member
Loads for Kibler .45 SMR
« on: August 28, 2022, 09:28:21 PM »
In about two weeks I should be getting my finished .45 SMR and need to have some idea where to start with it.  I'm new to muzzle loading rifles and flintlock in particular.  Have used C&B pistols in SASS and BP cartridge rifles.

I also see that leather is used to hold the flint in the hammer do you make or buy them?  What weight of leather and what is the width and length if you make it.

How much powder in the barrel and is the primer measured also.  I was told to use FFFFg for primer powder and FFg or FFFg powder for barrel.  Would Swiss 1 1/2 work as I have about a pound I used some in the .45-70 Government trapdoor.

Kibler said start with:  Ball size .445  Patches would be .012 or .015

Don't know anyone shooting Flintlocks and very dew doing C&B
« Last Edit: August 28, 2022, 10:16:24 PM by warren5421 »

Online rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Loads for Kibler .45 SMR
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2022, 10:50:17 PM »
In about two weeks I should be getting my finished .45 SMR and need to have some idea where to start with it.  I'm new to muzzle loading rifles and flintlock in particular.  Have used C&B pistols in SASS and BP cartridge rifles.

I also see that leather is used to hold the flint in the hammer do you make or buy them?  What weight of leather and what is the width and length if you make it. Use a strip of scrap leather like an old boot tongue the width of the frizzen. Fold it and cut the folded piece to be as long as the flint lock lower jaw. Cut a notch in the leather at the fold so the rear of the flint can butt up against the top jaw screw.