Author Topic: Advice on metal parts pitting and aging  (Read 1952 times)

Offline BradBrownBess

Advice on metal parts pitting and aging
« on: September 09, 2022, 06:16:42 AM »
I have 2 guns that I have been testing on for over 2 years and am still not happy with results.
One is the companion to this Asa Waters but it's missing the hammer. I have a proper cock but I cannot get the aging I want to come close to match. It's the combination or deep pitting and dark corrosion. You can see i the pics the hammer on the full gun - what I want to mimic if posible.

Another gun is an old stock parts bin musket. The picture of this barrel at the touch hole it not the musket I have that I want that look on. Th musket I want to barrel age has a good barrel but the pitting on the lock, the brass wear and tear, the repair in the wrist crack - don't match the later "poorly" fitted barrel I think was put on for looks. I have worked it to a good tight fit and really just want to pit age the touchhole area to match the YEARS of black powder burn.

On these pieces I have tried the old vinegar/salt/peroxide, Ferric Chloride, bleach, muriatic acid, HCL battery acid (bought from Amazon), black powder burnt residue, and am about to try some TOW Slow Blueing rust agent from Mark Lee Supplies. He said apply for up to several weeks - 1 coat at a time until I can get the pits I want then Boil in water.

I keep reading up on the chemistry on rust and corrosion etc (I'm not a chemist so it's usually above my head). I can get a tiny pit of pitting - more etching if you will with some of the above - but I am always dealing with red/brown rust. I understand that once brown rust is deep enough a part can be boiled to produce black rust - which can then be lightly hit back with 0000 steel wool to leave a darkening to the metal and in the pitting. I've experimented on a few steel pieces with pretty poor results.