Author Topic: Fitting a FLY ??  (Read 1244 times)

Offline Bigmon

Fitting a FLY ??
« on: September 20, 2022, 07:57:09 PM »
OK, After several weeks of messing with Dixie over which FLY I needed for their lock, and finally deciding that they do not have one to fit.  Then tearing apart several of my own locks to determine that a fly from a Chambers Colonial was large enough to make fit, I is ready.
Is there a tutorial, or anything ya might know of that could give me some guidance?  I have never done this before???
Thanks in advance.

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
Re: Fitting a FLY ??
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2022, 02:30:09 PM »
"The main accomplishment of modern economics is to make astrology look good."

Offline Darkhorse

« Reply #2 on: September 22, 2022, 06:23:18 AM »
Its not difficult. All I needed was a set of swiss Files, some patience, and some time. I used the Gunsmith of Grenville count as my reference.
American horses of Arabian descent.

Offline Bob Roller

« Reply #3 on: September 22, 2022, 07:56:39 PM »
My experience is from that of a lockMAKER as opposed to an assembler.The mechanism behind the plate IS the lock and I have met those who can't tell the difference between a custom made lock and a very cheap one with no bridle to capture the tumbler.
I made and finished the tumbler and the sear and THEN,using a dye laid out an inverted "V" with the apex PAST the center line of the 2 tumbler shafts and then milled it to a depth of about .075 and the drilled a hole at the top of the "V" with a #44 drill.The milled area extended a short distance beyond the full cock and forward of the half cock by about 3/32.I made the fly from 0-1 and fitted it in the #44 hole by using a miniature hollow mill and it fit well.With the "fly" as far to the rear as possible the fly is filed to the contour of the half cocked position and the moved forward and the rear edge is filed until it passes the half cock and then assembling the lock I test to and usually only