Author Topic: Iron Mounted Incised Carving Long rifle  (Read 1814 times)

Offline AZshot

Iron Mounted Incised Carving Long rifle
« on: October 04, 2022, 03:50:21 AM »
Well I got it.  It's got a lot of unusual features, and is a feast for the eyes trying to figure it out.  What I'm seeing is a slim, elegant rifle with simple appointments but from someone who had a good understanding of the architecture they wanted. The pronounced, round wrist and carved lines around the tang would have taken a little more work and care than the average rifle.  The inletting of the single trigger is simple, yet effective.  Where was this rifle made, and what era? 

I'll show the most unusual features first, to try to identify a region.  I see no evidence of a signature on the barrel, which is 46 1/4" long.  In my other post I put what region I'm thinking, but it could be another. I'm just not an expert, but am studying hard to be one one day. I think someone should recognize some of these features.  It also looks a lot older than I'd thought.  The butt is about 1 1/8" wide.  Click for larger. Can an expert tell me if this is as rare as I was hoping?

« Last Edit: October 04, 2022, 04:05:16 AM by AZshot »

Offline AZshot

Re: Iron Mounted Incised Carving Long rifle
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2022, 03:51:52 AM »
A few more.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2022, 03:55:24 AM by AZshot »

Offline AZshot

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2022, 03:56:06 AM »
Last ones.

Offline backsplash75

« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2022, 05:26:06 PM »
Interesting rifle. The use of a square nut to hold the tang screw and a slot vs. a proper trigger plate is the kind of thing you see on much earlier English sea service arms and etc. Lock and those big panels has to be 19th century, but other elements are really outdated and conservative.

Offline AZshot

« Reply #4 on: October 04, 2022, 05:46:28 PM »