Author Topic: Hot loads ? Or Mild loads ? Accuracy  (Read 3229 times)

Birddog6

Hot loads ? Or Mild loads ? Accuracy
« on: October 22, 2022, 07:52:53 AM »
I’ve been shooting ML for many years.   For me finding a good load always seem to fall in too areas. A mild load & a heavy or hot load.   I have always found the best accuracy in the milder loads. For example I shoot a .54 cal most of the time. I shoot 65 gr of 3F in it. To most that is a mild load, but it has always been adequate for paper & killing dozens I’d deer thru the years.
Yet I go to watch others shoot  .50 & .54 cal loads of 90 to 130 grains. Myself, I have never found a heavy load as accurate as a mild load in a ML. Could be just me.

Now were I hunting dif game like big hogs or elk or moose, I can see where that penetration would be necessary. But shooting paper & whitetail that usually only weigh 80-140#, I have never needed those heavy loads.

So.   1:  Do you think there is a mild & heavy good group ?

And   2:  Do you really look for a mild one, or just start at 85 gr & find one on the upper scale ?

Offline alacran

Re: Hot loads ? Or Mild loads ? Accuracy
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2022, 12:45:18 PM »
I have two .54 rifles. I had others. The 42-inch Ed Rayl barrel has a lower load of 60 grains Goex and a higher load of 95 grains Goex. This is a very light rifle and groups very well with either load. I use the higher load for elk hunting. The lower load for paper and gongs.
The other is a GRRW barrel which is heavy, and the loads are very similar 60 grains and 100 grains of Goex. Again, I use the higher load for elk hunting.
I did have a Green Mountain .54 barrel which was 1and 1/8th ATF which was extremely accurate with 110 grains of 2f. It printed much better than the 65-grain load of the same. This rifle was way too heavy to take hunting.
A man's rights rest in three boxes: the ballot box, the jury box, and the cartridge box.  Frederick Douglass

Offline Daniel Coats