Author Topic: Modeling on moldings  (Read 872 times)

Offline Clear Spring Armory

• Clear Spring Armory FaceBook Page
Modeling on moldings
« on: November 27, 2022, 04:58:21 AM »
This is my first time carving on a gun. I have seen carving tutorials that explain the process of "modeling" well, and in the case of the scrolls and other figures commonly found its very evident what needs to be done. But I've never seen specifically what is to be done with moldings...as far as modeling. Some pictures I've seen look like it's been done in certain places, beavertails, tang molding, etc. I realize some areas, like around the bottom of the lock and down the butt should just be squared, or seems that way.

I dont like how mine looks, something seems not right. So I figured maybe that's what I'm missing, as I didnt model anything. It could be I'm not deep enough? Also, would modeling help hide some of the depth inconsistencies that are standing out to me? Or at least breaking that hard egde

Offline Mike Lyons

• Afghanvet
Re: Modeling on moldings
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2022, 05:20:26 AM »
I think your carving looks fine and I wouldn’t go any deeper.  Your lines are crisp.  Buy a couple good reference books,  KRA discs and study original work.  There’s more experience on here than anywhere online.  When the top dogs talk,  pay close attention to what they say.  I’m not a even close to being an expert but,  In my opinion your beaver tails are a little long and the area in front of the trigger guard and your lower lock panels could be rounded a bit more.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2022, 05:44:26 AM »
Could we see the sideplate lock panel from straight on?  It appears from this view that there’s quite a bit of wood above the sideplate top screw. Is this build based on particular originals or your own design?
Andover, Vermont

Offline J. Talbert

« Reply #3 on: November 27, 2022, 09:23:01 PM »