Author Topic: Trade gun barrel color  (Read 1001 times)

Offline oldtravler61

• We all make mistakes.
Trade gun barrel color
« on: January 09, 2023, 02:04:40 AM »
  If any of you are into Trade guns especially Northwest. What would be your preferred option... Browning, blue or leave it in the white and let it to it's own patina. Barrel that is.... Just curious as to opinions... I'd post a picture but I'm not a professional photographer or builder... It was just a fun project....  Oldtravler

Offline Rajin cajun

• Ragin Cajun
Re: Trade gun barrel color
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2023, 02:44:07 AM »
Brown, unless it is a Tryon Chiefs grade then blue. Will have an original Tryon chief grade on display at the Ala. show this coming weekend.
The Tryon chiefs grade is a fine handling northwest gun, and the majority were traded into your part of the country to the Ojibwa tribe. Most people think that the Northwest guns were junk. There were some who tried to pass off inferior Fusil. But the Natives told the suppliers just what was wrong, and they wanted those issues corrected. John Jacob Astor was, notorious for that, his 1829 contract stated he wanted a number of his gun made in Belgium but to be marked Barnett with English proofs. The native stated the stocks didn’t have enough “crook” to them . They were referring to the length of pull, those guns were very uncomfortable to bring to shoulder and point. He didn’t correct the problem immediately, but it was corrected eventually
Please post a photo, love those Trade guns.
Bob
« Last Edit: January 09, 2023, 03:42:32 AM by Rajin cajun »
It’s not the size of the dog in the fight, it’s the size of the fight in the dog !

Offline RAT

« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2023, 04:02:38 AM »