Author Topic: Chambers finish.  (Read 1719 times)

Offline varsity07840

Chambers finish.
« on: January 25, 2023, 01:54:54 AM »
I always used Tru Oil before my current project. Should I thin the Chambers finish for the first sealer coat?

Thanks in advance.

Offline davebozell

Re: Chambers finish.
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2023, 02:24:59 AM »
I’m not an expert, but I always use it straight out of the bottle.  I’ve never been disappointed.

Offline sdilts

« Reply #2 on: January 25, 2023, 02:55:39 AM »
I've never thinned it. Never saw a need to.

Offline RAT

« Reply #3 on: January 25, 2023, 03:44:08 AM »
For my first coat(s) I thin it 50/50 with real turpentine. The wood really soaks it up. I say "coat(s)" because of how it's applied. I start at the muzzle end and work towards the butt. I apply a generous amount using a paintbrush. By the time I've reached the butt, the finish at the muzzle end has soaked in. So I immediately apply another coat... then another... and another... in quick succession until the finish is no longer soaking in and pools on the surface. I usually apply around 4 coats at this point. I then use a scrap of cotton T-shirt to wipe off the excess. I let this dry for a couple of days.

Then I rub it back with 0000 steel wool and apply the next coat, full strength/thickness, in small amounts with a cotton scrap and rub it in hard. I let it dry, which usually only takes a day. I then repeat applying the finish full strength until I get what I'm looking for.
Bob

Offline satwel

« Reply #4 on: January 26, 2023, 02:26:51 AM »
You will get the best results by following the directions on the can. There is no mention of diluting the oil in the directions.

Offline ScottH

« Reply #5 on: January 26, 2023, 02:53:04 AM »
Jim Chambers himself told me that if I wanted to thin the first coat of finish to use "real mineral spirits" not the new green version of mineral spirits. FWIW

Offline RAT

« Reply #6 on: January 26, 2023, 04:14:05 AM »