Author Topic: Installing lugs on round barrel  (Read 853 times)

Offline Lone Wolf

Installing lugs on round barrel
« on: February 06, 2023, 07:31:38 AM »
I'm currently building a Jim Chambers English fowler kit and it is my first build with a round barrel.  What's the best way to attach lugs to the round barrel?  Smart Dog's fantastic fowler tutorial on here shows bands around the barrel that affix the lugs, but the picture of the completed gun on Jim Chambers' website does not show bands, so I presume the lugs are soldered on the barrel for this particular style.  If soldering is the best method, how are the lugs positioned and held at "top dead center" when soldering?  Thanks

Offline Rich

Re: Installing lugs on round barrel
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2023, 12:25:52 PM »
My method: shape the base of the lug to the profile of the barrel. Tin the base of the lug. I then take some thin wire and make a loop about 6 inches in diameter. I wire 2 lead ingots (around a pound each) to the bottom of the loop. I put the barrel in the vise horizontally with the location of the lug away from the jaws. Place the lug on the barrel and hang the lead weighted wire loop over the lug. I keep the twisted wire part of the loop to the side or bottom. Solder it in place. If the lug is near where the front sight is, I put a thick brass rod in the barrel to act as a heat sink so the front sight doesn't come off. 

Offline elk killer

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2023, 03:14:16 PM »
Clay Smith did a great video on this on u tube grumpy gunsmith of williamsburg
only flintlocks remain interesting..

Offline smart dog

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2023, 03:37:20 PM »
Hi Lone Wolf,
Go here and scroll down to the posts on barrel lugs.  The barrel bands shown in my fowler building tutorial are used because the barrel is set up as if it was a Spanish barrel.  Normally the British makers would braze or solder lugs on the bottom as in the link below.