Author Topic: Newbie needs help!  (Read 1735 times)

Offline schluterjohn

• Starting Member
Newbie needs help!
« on: March 17, 2023, 06:21:43 AM »
I'm a newbie both to black powder and to muzzleloaders. I finally pulled out my father's purchase in the mid 50's and began to check it out. It's a presentation half-stock percussion longrifle with German silver from buttplate to the end of the ramrod. Name on the lock is Richard Constable. The patchbox is engraved with "Wm. H. Sidell to R. N. Issacs". The latter received the brevets of Brigadier General in the Union Army. The 30" barrel measures 1.050" across the flats, has a bore of 0.4112" and groove diameter of 0.4034". Land height of 0.0039". Twist is about 1:30 but only determined by looking down the bbl. Tight patches won't spin using a Dewey rod with a ball bearing handle. My question comes from comments in several forums. !:66" seems appropriate for PRB and 1:33" or less is more appropriate for conical bullets. Tipping point seems to be about 1:48". No hard and fast rules but this seems to be the gist of it. And generally, the muzzleloaders have deeper rifling. Does the info I've given provide any guidelines as to a starting point for shooting one-hole groups first time out. Thick or thin patches (the patch should have little problem sealing with the shallow grooves). Anything else? Appreciate any and all help--only have 200 #11's.

Offline L. Akers

Re: Newbie needs help!
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2023, 02:25:58 PM »
Could be it's made to shoot a picket bullet and not a prb.

Offline schluterjohn

• Starting Member
« Reply #2 on: March 17, 2023, 07:45:32 PM »
That may explain the false muzzle with a cone and the flat nose bullet starter. Would loading these sugar loafs require a flat nosed brass tipped ramrod to keep them aligned? And it would seem that the patching would differ from that of a PRB.

Offline Daryl

« Reply #3 on: March 17, 2023, 08:54:40 PM »