Author Topic: 1st Veg Tanned Project - Mini Ball Flask  (Read 1643 times)

Offline 45dash100

1st Veg Tanned Project - Mini Ball Flask
« on: October 08, 2023, 08:37:57 PM »
First time working with veg tanned leather, second ever leather project.  Made a hunting pouch years ago out of some moose leather, and have had leather tools sitting around doing nothing.  I like to keep lead from contaminating things, so a tiny flask to throw in said hunting pouch will be a bit better than the plastic sandwich baggies I've used in the past.

Because I'm not good at freehand drawing, and was going to use a computer to make my design anyway, I decided to 3D print a cutting and sewing guide.  I remember that counting stiches, and trying to make everything line up on my hunting pouch was a big pain.  This was just as fast to draw as a paper design, and I'm hoping a good test run for bigger projects.  Gonna need more hunting bags for my various guns.

The primary circle is 2.5 inches in diameter.  Scotch tape works good for holding the template in place.  I'm using some pretty lightweight leather - 3-4oz.  Seems ok for something this tiny, but I do wonder how well it'l hold it's shape after forming.

Just using a #11 hobby blade.  The strap circles are just an impression made with running a needle around the template.

Came out pretty good, but I need some more blades.  This is one of my last ones, and it's getting a bit dull.  Makes curves hard to do.

It might not look it it, but the thread holes are narrowly chamfered which guides the needle right to the center.  Been giving the needle a light rap with a hammer for each hole.  In the future, I may make shaped holes to fit the intended awl.  That'l let me skip a step.

Here's the holes after being punched out with the awl.