Author Topic: John Painter Rifle  (Read 1886 times)

Offline 1JPainterDecendant

• Starting Member
John Painter Rifle
« on: December 01, 2023, 06:47:44 PM »
  Hello I am relatively new at antique rifles. My interest is mainly John Painter or makers in Botetourt county Virginia. JP was my Great Great Grandfather. I recently acquired my first rifle this summer and am interested in acquiring more but that is not the intent of this discussion.
  My interest in this discussion is to try to get an idea how many JP rifles or pistols are out there. If anyone has any or knows of anyone that does please comment and share pictures if you have them. Thanks so much.

Offline A Scanlan

Re: John Painter Rifle
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2023, 04:13:35 AM »
I'll send you a PM shortly.  We need to talk!

Offline Tanselman

• member 2
« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2023, 04:24:00 AM »
I've had two Painter rifles over the years, but they have moved on in favor of rifles more in my line of collecting. But the ones I had didn't reach the level of original surface and condition yours appears to have from your photos. You have a really nice Painter rifle with typical architecture and guard, great wood... and I'm presuming it's signed. What a great way to get started on your collecting search. 

Shelby Gallien

• Starting Member
« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2023, 04:53:13 AM »
Mine is not signed that I’m aware. I have not taken the stock off to check underneath. Not sure I will. It shoots great and even taken a deer with it a couple weeks ago. Thanks for your reply

Offline A Scanlan

« Reply #4 on: December 02, 2023, 05:21:38 AM »
Outstanding.  Yes we can plan to meet sometime.

Offline Tanselman

• member 2
« Reply #5 on: December 02, 2023, 06:34:21 AM »