Author Topic: Heating Steel for Forging (a simple trigger)  (Read 1049 times)

Offline silky

Heating Steel for Forging (a simple trigger)
« on: January 21, 2024, 10:17:20 PM »
Good afternoon,

Total newbie basics question, if you don't mind. I have zero experience with forging...

Using a propane torch, about how long does it take to heat a piece of 1/8" steel in a vise to start forming into a trigger?  And how do you apply the heat? I have the great step-by-step from the tutorials section, but so far I'm not able to get the steel hot enough to work; it's a piece I picked up at the hardware store labeled as "welding steel." Am I using the right tools and materials?

You can't hurt my feelings by explaining it like I'm a child!

Thanks!

- Tom

« Last Edit: January 23, 2024, 12:36:28 AM by rich pierce »

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: Heating Steel for Forging
« Reply #1 on: January 21, 2024, 10:25:19 PM »
I cold forge simple triggers from mild steel. No heat is necessary. I put a piece in the vise, also supported from below so it does not slip downward. I use a ball-peen hammer to cold forge the “shoe” then cut the body of the simple trigger out of the stock. 1/8” flat stock works but then the body of the blade needs to be thinned. Flat stock about 0.090”-0.100” is better.

12 gauge steel sheet would be my choice.  It’s 0.104” thick.  https://fastmetals.com/products/12-ga-1046-nom-hot-rolled-sheet-commerial-quality-astm-a1011

I’m going to try some 14 gauge too. It’s about 0.075”. Saves thinning but the perming would have to be more careful. https://fastmetals.com/products/14-ga-0747-nom-hot-rolled-sheet-commerial-quality-astm-a1011
« Last Edit: January 21, 2024, 10:31:10 PM by rich pierce »
Andover, Vermont

Offline silky

« Reply #2 on: January 21, 2024, 10:41:47 PM »