Author Topic: New - and verifying load  (Read 1595 times)

Offline YorkCountian

• Starting Member
New - and verifying load
« on: January 27, 2024, 05:17:24 PM »
Hello, I'm new at this with a recently completed Kibler colonial kit. After few test shots and a trip the range it functions great. The groups at 50 and 100 are good. I'd like to verify the powder charge and can't find reference to that on the forums.
  Based on everything I read here about powder, I purchased 4lbs of 2F Swiss. The rifle is a .54 caliber. I have .530 ball and .018 pre lubed ticking patches. I want to use a solid deer hunting powder charge and I am currently using 90 grains of that 2F Swiss powder. I can't determine if that 90 grains is near maximum? Too much or not enough? The rifle seems just fine. I shot one or two at 95 grains with no change. Is there a chart for the swiss powder and .54 somewhere?
  Additionally, all my shots impact just a bit high. I'm about 4"-5" high at 50 yards and 3" high at 100 yards. The sights luckily are dead on for left and right. Do you file the rear sight if your are hitting high? Or buy a taller front sight? My feeling is that it's not too much powder but I could be wrong.
 I polished that front sight pretty well to make it bright but I didn't think I took any off of it during construction.
Thanks for any help.

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
Re: New - and verifying load
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2024, 05:36:22 PM »
Your rifle looks great. Yes, file the rear sight down a bit. No need to increase your charge though some do. The gun will handle more powder but it’s diminishing returns on velocity especially at 75-100 yards. I like 70-90 grains of 2F in a .54.
Andover, Vermont

Offline bluenoser

« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2024, 06:42:51 PM »
If the sight height on the Kibler Colonial is the same as on the SMR, there isn't much rear sight to file down.

Offline smylee grouch

« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2024, 06:47:16 PM »