Author Topic: Work in Progress - Palm Rifle  (Read 10222 times)

Berks Liberty

Work in Progress - Palm Rifle
« on: December 21, 2009, 04:20:59 PM »
I thought I'd share these with you all.  I hope to have it done by January....maybe February, that's if my wife leaves me alone.  I've done a lot of research of John Palm from the Tulpehocken/Womelsdorf area.  And since he's my ancestor, it gave me more incentive to build a rifle with the Palm feel.  I'm using photos in Shumway's book Longrifle Articles, Volume 1, page 88 and 89.  I am also studying some other Palm rifles to get a feel for his work.  I'll update as I get farther down the road with this piece to get your feel for it.   Colrain 44 inch, octagon to round barrel (Colrain's Turkey barrel) Chambers Ketland lock, besides the wood, trigger guard and butt plate, that should be all that is made by someone else.  I am planning on making all the other parts.

Jason

Offline Old Ford2

Re: Work in Progress - Palm Rifle
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2009, 05:03:43 PM »
Nice work, looks like you are well on your way to a fine rifle.
Best Regards
Old Ford
Never surrender, always take a few with you.
Let the Lord pick the good from the bad!

Offline Don Getz

« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2009, 06:08:44 PM »
Jason......I am going to be somewhat critical about some of your work.   Your lock panel appears to be "applied", or it looks too much like a photograph.    The panels are still too big, and the rear part of the lock panel should just flow away
from the lock, it should not have a distinct divot, or concave look to it.   It should just flow into the wrist.  It's only about
six weeks until the Lewisburg show, come on down and look at some good originals, or look at the work of some of todays best gunbuilders, this will give you more insight into how this shaping should be done...........Don

Offline Acer Saccharum

• Administrator
    • Thomas  A Curran
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2009, 06:23:03 PM »