General discussion > Gun Building

TRS Lock Photos

(1/3) > >>

Shawrco:
Good evening,
Since the TRS online catalog no longer has photos of their locks or castings does anyone happen to have a picture or two of TRS locks, specifically pictures of TRS #653 and/or #657 (front and back would be great!). I’m just getting started on a #653 (was sold to me as). My approach is going to be to true up the tumbler shank and fit to lock plate and use that as 0/0 to get the bridle/sear located, then the rest of the parts. The original that this lock was cast from had engraving on it and it appears all the screws (except frizzen and frizzen spring) go in blind holes. Mr Jesse told me the only shadow holes that may be off are the mainspring due to a different shrink rate of the spring steel compared to the 4140 on the lock plate. I will gladly accept any advice, suggestions, or experiences from anyone who has assembled one of these Paul Poser locks. Thanks in advance.
Joe B

wogden:

Here are some pics of the lock assembled by The Rifle Shoppe(Don’t ask how long delivery took).  Also, Taylor Sapergia did a post on this site in Nov. 2007 with pictures of one of these rifles he assembled which included very helpful info on assembling the set triggers.  Best of luck with your build. 

Scota4570:
I assembled one of the TRS baker locks.  I will do no more.

Start with the assumption that nothing is ready to go as supplied.  The tumbler and sear probably need to replaced and made from scratch.  Trust none of the cast indications of where holes go. 

Send the frizzen to Jess to be hardened.  I could not get mine to spark.   He has a way to make the alloy spark.