Author Topic: lets here some 50 cal smootbore loads  (Read 339 times)

Offline adkmountainken

lets here some 50 cal smootbore loads
« on: April 13, 2024, 10:09:09 PM »
i picked up and antique ( fully functioning ) 50 caliber smooth rifle recently and really want to kill a turkey with it.  i have been hunting turkeys for the last 5 years exclusively with flintlock fowlers in 75 cal so i am at ground zero in working up a pattern for a .50  I am thinking about starting at 60 grains FF, wonder wad, 1.25 ounces of #5's and either another wonder wad or nitro card.  i need to get some veg wads in near future.  anyone care to share their pet 50 cal load?

Offline Daryl

Re: lets here some 50 cal smootbore loads
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2024, 08:52:53 PM »
Taylor has one, but hasn't built it - yet.
Your suggested loads look too large to me, powder AND shot.
I would think 50gr. might work with 3/4 to 1ounce of shot and even this might be too heavy for a .50.
Trying to remember what I used in my .45 smoothbore. I think maybe 35 to 40gr. powder and 3/4oz. shot.
Broke 10 birds in a row with that load using 7 1/2's. Beat all the 12 and 10 bores. That was way back when there were
not a gaggle of 20 bores being standard- maybe 1981?
My chart shows a measure that throws 50gr. powder, should throw 3/4oz. shot. I just checked, so maybe 45gr. powder and 3/4oz. show could be better
especially since this is an antique.
Remember, you are looking for 1,000fps to 1,100fps, not 1,500fps.
The use of smaller diameter tungsten shot (higher shot numbers) could be quite good, compared to limited # of shot in larger lead sizes.
Daryl

"a gun without hammers is like a spaniel without ears" King George V

Offline adkmountainken

« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2024, 09:42:57 PM »