Author Topic: Ghost in the lock mortise  (Read 1119 times)

Offline Steeltrap

Ghost in the lock mortise
« on: May 04, 2024, 01:15:59 AM »
So I had I let the lock, and with the hook breach had some interesting issues to deal with.

So, I had the lock working perfectly….lock bolts lined up great and lock sparked great!!

I then moved onto the 2 wedge keys and underlugs. Got all that good to go. Then worked on the trigger guard and got that done.

So then I decided to put it all together. When I went to drop the lock in it didn’t “fall in” right. I’m studying the lock and mortise trying to determine the issue. I then removed the mainspring and tried…..still wouldn’t drop. Next I removed the sear spring…..BOOM!!  Dropped in like Kibler did the work!!

Sharpies up the sear spring and saw where it was touching…removed a few small pieces of wood….BOOM!!  Dropped right in.

So, I had it dropping in fine…..then…not. Ghost in the lock???

Offline Curtis

• Missouri
Re: Ghost in the lock mortise
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2024, 01:29:21 AM »
The first thing I would recommend would be to blacken (or whatever color you are using) all the internal parts and find which one is interfering.

Curtis
Curtis Allinson
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Sometimes, late at night when I am alone in the inner sanctum of my workshop and no one else can see, I sand things using only my fingers for backing

Offline Steeltrap

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2024, 01:33:28 PM »
I don't know if you read all of my post, but that's been done.

The perplexing part was why it worked perfectly last week, then this week it had "developed" a spot where it was rubbing.

The Mrs suggested because it's gotten humid in the last several days, it could have been the wood swelled just enough. I guess that make sense...or at least points to a possible reason.

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2024, 08:28:03 PM »