Author Topic: ferric nitrate  (Read 5450 times)

California Kid

ferric nitrate
« on: January 15, 2010, 10:59:11 AM »
Here is a pic of a scrap of wood from my current build after the C. Hawken in the library. This is stained with ferric nitrate crystals mixed 50-50 (water), and a light coat of Chambers oil. I think it comes close. Just thought I would post it after all the discussion of the alternatives to nitric acid based ferric nitrate. What do you guys think?
The couple small burnt areas are from being overzealous with the heat gun!

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
Re: ferric nitrate
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2010, 04:42:46 PM »
Kid,

I've been using it for a couple of years now.  It's just awesome.  The greatest thing is that you don't have to go through all the neutralizing.
In His grip,

Dane

Online Eric Krewson

« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2010, 04:47:21 PM »
I use a heat gun a bunch bending wood as well as blushing aqufortis. The key is to keep it moving and never stopping. Go back over a place in a sweeping motion if it didn't blush rather than holding over the spot.

California Kid

« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2010, 09:05:49 AM »
Eric, this was only an experiment. Just wanted to see what would happen holding it in one place. Otherwise I thought the color came close to what I was looking for.
smallpatch so you are sure you don't have to neutralize? How many coats do you use, and your mixture proportions?

Offline smallpatch

• Dane Lund
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2010, 07:01:43 PM »
OK,

I don't remember the exact dilution, BUT, I think it was like this,  I bought a 125g bottle of the crystals.  With that bottle of crystals, I made two 125g bottles of the solution.