Author Topic: Quality Screw Drivers  (Read 3660 times)

Offline Brian Jordan

• Pennsylvania
Quality Screw Drivers
« on: March 08, 2018, 10:55:06 PM »
I'm looking at the Brownell's Magna tip screw drivers. You guys have any experience with these? Any kits in particular you like? Perhaps other brands of screw drivers? I have a small Wheeler kit that I don not like at all. The inserts are loose and fall out of the handle.

Thanks
Elizabeth, PA

"No free man shall ever be debarred the use of arms"...Thomas Jefferson

Let's Go Brandon!

Offline Long Ears

Re: Quality Screw Drivers
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2018, 11:04:11 PM »
Call Wheeler, they will replace your handle free of charge. Great people. Bob

Offline bama

• Calvary Longrifles
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2018, 11:41:30 PM »
I have a set of the Bonanza Screw Drivers from Brownells that I have been using for 35 years. I ground the tips to match the screw slot sizes that use in the building process. There are six in the set and I find that these are all I deed for gun work.
Jim Parker

"An Honest Man is worth his weight in Gold"

Offline Scota4570

« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2018, 02:02:05 AM »
If Wheeler does not, another screwdriver handle for changeable bits will work.  The Wheeler bit shank is the same hex shape and size as all my other screwdriver bits. 

Turtle

« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2018, 03:18:39 AM »
 I have and use the Brownells screwdriver set. I like them, particularly because the large selection of widths and thickness enable one to get a perfect fit.

Offline FDR

« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2018, 04:20:14 AM »
X2 on the Brownells set. Quality set with lots of available bits.

Fred

Offline D. Taylor Sapergia

• Member 3
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2018, 04:27:31 AM »
I have Brownell's 44 piece set and love it.  Though I have never used the short handle, always the long one.
D. Taylor Sapergia
www.sapergia.blogspot.com

Art is not an object.  It is the excitement inspired by the object.

Offline Timothy88