Author Topic: How to determine a roundball moulds casting weight?  (Read 3798 times)

Offline rick landes

How to determine a roundball moulds casting weight?
« on: February 15, 2010, 06:27:02 PM »
I am new to the world of casting and have a couple of questions. I looked thru some of the FAQ's and the like and could not find my answers so here goes...

I have a Lyman RB mould for .530 dia. 230 grain balls. I purchased lead from Rotometals (a #55 pig at 99.9%). I have yet to get a ball at 230 grains, and the Lymans site tells me the variance for a mould is +/- 5% or 241.5 to 218.5 which seems quite a range.

I have cast about 800 RB's and weighed 30 from each batch, taken the heaviest weight dropped and grain and selected only those heavier for my target work. The rest go back to the Lyman Pro-Mag.

I check lead temp with thermometer and pour at 650F to 700F. Mould is kept pristinely clean and spur cutter snug. I double flux before pour and after about 15-20 minutes of a run.

Question (I am sure some have thought finally!) How do I determine what weight ball this mould will throw? (I am thinking a good consistent average when all is as should be.)

I tried weighing each ball (just about as cast) for a short 70 ball run and about half were 222.5 to 223.0 the rest were mostly below, 2 were above.

I am after balls with no more than .5 grain variance for target work.
“No free man shall ever be de-barred the use of arms. The strongest reason for the people to retain their right to keep and bear arms is as a last resort to protect themselves against tyranny in government." Thomas Jefferson

Offline Kermit

"Anything worth doing is worth doing slowly." Mae West

Offline SCLoyalist

Re: How to determine a roundball moulds casting weight?
« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2010, 07:55:22 PM »
Another useful site about muzzleloading numbers is   http://members.aye.net/~bspen/math.html