Author Topic: Touch hole liners??????????  (Read 59278 times)

jwh1947

Touch hole liners??????????
« on: March 08, 2010, 04:28:39 AM »
I know I am going to stir the pot on this one.  I am unrepentant; so be it.  Go ahead and fire away.  I'm in the bunker.

I am an avocational builder of hunting rifles.  I have only applied one touch-hole liner at the demand of a client; the other 26 that I have done were simply drilled with a #50 drill bit. 

I have often wondered why so many contemporary builders use liners.  Look at the originals and take a percentage.  This dumb Dutchman has always seen it as another seam at a most critical area adjacent to the explosion.  I always figured that such a liner would be useful as a retrofit for a burned out touch hole, otherwise, a contemporary do-dad, more unfit than fit for a traditional rifle.

I have heard all kinds of stories of faster ignition, but, I think that this is essentially so miniscule in value as to be complete bunk in operational terms.  I am suspicious of those who tell me that they can discern a difference.

Well, I feel vindicated.  At our first meeting of the latest course at Jacobsburg, taught there by three of the nation's premier traditional working gunsmiths, I raised the question.

Here's what I was told and what I saw.  All three Pennsylvania gunsmiths, comprising some 125 years of experience together, claimed that liners were entirely superfluous, and the result of nothing more than customer demand.  Builders put them in because of customers expect them, not because they serve any significant purpose.  Included in this gunsmithing experience are many prizes and records at Shartlesville, the oldest black-powder Mecca in the country.  No liners were used by these participants.