Author Topic: Cold water flush  (Read 19587 times)

Offline smylee grouch

Cold water flush
« on: March 20, 2010, 08:18:52 PM »
Just read post on gun building and cleaning was discused also. D Taylor Sapergia-used cold water to flush after cleaning. Could you eladorate on your whole cleaning process and why you do it that particular way. I have been using scalding hot water for 40+ years as a flush and was wondering why you use cold .  It might save me the work and time of boiling water.  Thanks in advance.  Gary Trapper

Offline SCLoyalist

Re: Cold water flush
« Reply #1 on: March 20, 2010, 08:32:29 PM »
I've been using tap water from the 'cold' faucet for last couple of years on my flinters.  Remove lock for separate cleaning, shove paper towel into lock mortise to catch  drips.  Plug vent TIGHTLY with round toothpick.  Fill barrel with water and let set for 10 minutes, pour water out and start running cleaning patches down bore.   For me, getting the fouling off the face of the breech is the critical part - one rifle allows me to use a 'flush tube' to pump water in/out and that gets rid of the breech fouling.  On another rifle, I can't get the flush tube to seal adequately, so on that one sometimes I resort to a breech scraper.  On either rifle, it takes me about 10-15 patches and 10-20 minutes (not counting the 10 minute 'soak').  When patches come out clean and dry, lube the bore.   

roundball

« Reply #2 on: March 20, 2010, 10:02:36 PM »

one rifle allows me to use a 'flush tube';

On another rifle, I can't get the flush tube to seal;  

You probably already know this, but if you happen use a removesble vent liner, there is a flush tube accessory with a brass fitting / O-ring assembly which screws into the vent liner seat

Daryl

« Reply #3 on: March 20, 2010, 10:20:57 PM »