Author Topic: Virginia rifle poi shift due to humidity?  (Read 8104 times)

m1garand_man

Virginia rifle poi shift due to humidity?
« on: March 12, 2018, 11:13:50 PM »
First off, hello, I'm new here and while I'm not new to black powder I am new to flintlocks. I definitely look forward to learningas much as possible from all of you.

I took my virginia flintlock rifle out again today and while shooting noticed that it was shooting five inches high at 100y. Two weeks ago it was dead on the bull at 100 and a week before that it was two inches high. My barrel is pinned into the stock and while the stok is very thin and easily flexible in the forend when the barrel is dismounted I'm starting to think that the shift I'm experiencing is due to himidity.

On a given day it will shoot in the same spot for the entire day but when I bring it out on a different day it will be in a different spot.

This time of year humidity fluctuates wildly. I have seen fluctuations between 35 and 85%

I have a hard time accepting that my stock is warping enough to flex the barrel like this but it is the only thing I can think of.

What have you guys noticed with your full stocked rifles?

Is this issue normal?

How can I correct it?

Offline Stoner creek

Re: Virginia rifle poi shift due to humidity?
« Reply #1 on: March 12, 2018, 11:23:02 PM »
It’s more likely that the light conditions were different on the days that you shot. It’s possible that the wood could move the barrel. You would need a really skinny barrel and a pretty chunky piece of wood.
Try to make a mental note of light conditions and it’s affect on your shot placement. 5 inches isn’t  too terribly bad at 100 yards with open sights. Is your gun printing groups?
« Last Edit: March 12, 2018, 11:29:02 PM by Stoner creek »
Stop Marxism in America

Offline rich pierce

• Administrator
« Reply #2 on: March 12, 2018, 11:23:37 PM »
We just have to mention these things.....