Author Topic: Rifle Design  (Read 5842 times)

LURCHWV@BJS

Rifle Design
« on: October 17, 2010, 08:50:03 PM »
Recently I posted a thread on Drop and how to choose which is best.  I was told to shoulder different Rifles and find one that suits me.  I did just that.  First I shouldered a Virgina Rifle It felt reeaaal gooood. Loved the lines I knew one like this was for me.  I also shouldered a Tennessee Rifle or would it be Armed one since It was more for shooting from the upperarm. Now I ask your forgiveness I am still learning the terminology so I will say things as best as I can.  I figured in my trane of thought it's a simple remedy just put a Tennessee style Buttplate on a Virginia Rife.   Then I started reading " Recreating The American Longrifle" by Buchele,Shumway and Alexander.  In chapter two on Gun Design 9th paragraph pg11 & 13
it stated," Some schools of gunsmithing used vey distinct and uniquefeatures, each of which is beautiful in it's own place. But it is poor taste to pluck some of these features out of their artistc context and use them undicriminately on a composite rifle."  It goes on with examples.
  I know this forum has some of the greatest researchers to be found.  So I ask,  Has anyone seen a Virginia Rifle with a Tennesse style Buttplate?  I really don't wish to fall in the catagory of an Interpretive builder.  Slowly learning.

Rich

Offline James Rogers

• James Rogers
    • Fowling Piece
Re: Rifle Design
« Reply #1 on: October 17, 2010, 10:01:10 PM »

1. When you refer to a "Virginia" rifle what characteristic(s) are making it a "Virginia" in your mind?
Are you speaking about the generic guns that some of the more production oriented companies are marketing as "Virgina" rifles? Are you speaking mainly about the wide flat butt area?

2. By "Tennessee" buttplate are you specifically referring to only the crescent characteristic? Many guns made in Virginia have that same characteristic.