Author Topic: Need help on ID of Percussion Shotgun w/pictures  (Read 8179 times)

KY Shinner

Need help on ID of Percussion Shotgun w/pictures
« on: August 30, 2011, 05:14:09 AM »
My bother in law wanted some help in identifying a percussion shotgun.  His father found it in  a attic of a house that had been in the family for years.  The side plates has the name C. Moore.  I am not sure if the is the maker of the locks or the gun.  On top of the barrel is " Time Laminated Steel".   The stock looks to be walnut but I am not an expert at wood.   Looks to be about a 12 gauge.  One of the hammers is stuck in the midde position.  I do not think the ramrod is original to the gun...not sure.  My brother in law does have the powder horn but is not in good shape.

Thanks for taking a look.  I hope the pictures work out....first time I tried to post and I am not the computer savy.

Ed Griffin

Offline nord

Re: Need help on ID of Percussion Shotgun w/pictures
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2011, 02:56:44 PM »
Remove the wedge holding the barrel to the stock and the ramrod. You'll almost certainly encounter proofs on the underside of the barrel. I suspect that they'll be either Brit or Belgian. (Go to the General Discussion board at Antiqueguns.com where I've posted proof information.)

Moore in different forms is a common name.  In some cases a Birmingham maker and in others a name "borrowed" to make the gun appear to be British.

Most times I advise folks at AG to come to ALR with their questions about Long Rifles and other non mass produced antique arms. In this case you may wish to present the piece at AG as one of the members (Bill Curtis) is an expert on this type of gun.

Send a message to me here at ALR with your EMail address, a preferred user name, and a password. I'll activate the AG account immediately.