Author Topic: Drilling ramrod hole for 1803 Harpers Ferry  (Read 5356 times)

Offline Curt Larsen

Drilling ramrod hole for 1803 Harpers Ferry
« on: July 16, 2008, 03:36:54 PM »
OK, I'm a chicken on this one.  I purchased a HF 1803 kit from Don Stith a while back and am finally trying to get around to start on it.  I've never done a half stock before and am puzzled on drilling the ramrod hole on the stock without a nice straight channel to line up a drill on.  Any tips on this would be greatly appreciated.  Like I said above, I'm a chicken on this one especially since there have been several "seconds" 1803 stocks on the TOW site with drill outs on the ramrod channels.  Also, what size drill do you recommend for this.  Thanks,
Curt

Offline Longknife

Re: Drilling ramrod hole for 1803 Harpers Ferry
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2008, 03:46:59 PM »
Curt, I would suggest that you completely inlet the barrel install rib and thimbles and use them as a guide. use a bit that just fits in the thimbles....Ed
Ed Hamberg

northmn

« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2008, 04:28:46 PM »
On a straight barrel installing the rib and using it for a guide will work.  On a tapered barrel you can clamp the stock down and make v blocks for guides to align the drill.  Some of the newer designed drill bits with pointed tips are also better for
going in a straight line.  I ususally drill small holes 1/16 or 3/32 in the barrel channel as feeler holes to check on the progress so that I can stop and do some damage control before the bit wanders off too far if it is doing so.   The last ramrod channel I did was on a half stock and I used a 16 inch spade bit in a freehand manner and came out about as good as ever. Take extra care in getting the bit started straight.

DP

Offline Dave B

« Reply #3 on: July 16, 2008, 04:30:15 PM »